Members

Principal Investigators

Dr. Jessica L. Montag

Jessica

Email: jmontag@illinois.edu

Website: http://languagestats.com/jessicamontag/

Jessica Montag studies how language abilities emerge with experience across the lifespan, including language comprehension, production, and reading. Dr. Montag uses varied methods and measures, including comprehension and production experiments in adults and children, compilation and analyses of text and speech corpora, and advanced quantitative methods.

Dr. Jon A. Willits

Jon

Email: jwillits@illinois.edu

Website: http://languagestats.com/jonwillits/

Jon Willits studies language and learning in infants, children, adults, and machines. His research uses computational, neurobiological, experimental, and naturalistic methods to better understand how people and machines learn, represent, and use languages and other forms of complex knowledge, especially word meanings and semantic knowledge.


Post-Docs

Anastasia Stoops

Email: agusico2@illinois.edu


Graduate Students

Philip Huebner

Philip

Email: huebner3@illinois.edu

Github: http://github.com/phueb

ResearchGate: http://researchgate.net/profile/Philip_Huebner

Philip Huebner studies computational models of language and knowledge acquisition.

Andrew Flores

Email: azf2@illinois.edu

Andrew Flores studies vocabulary and semantic development in infants and toddlers.

Lin Khern Chia

Linkhern

Email: lachia2@illinois.edu

Lin Khern studies semantic memory with behavioral paradigms and computational models.

Emily Mech

Emily

Email: enmech2@illinois.edu

Github: http://github.com/emilymech

ResearchGate: http://researchgate.net/profile/Emily_Mech

Emily Mech utilizes event-related potentials (ERPs), computational modeling, and behavioral methodology to examine how regularities in language and the world interact to affect the ways in which our linguistic and semantic knowledge is learned, structured, accessed, and communicated.

Shufan Mao

Shufan

Email: smao9@illinois.edu

Shufan Mao is interested in representation of semantics, concept, and meanings. He is working on a distributional representation of concept and semantics using a network model which integrates distributional semantics, formal semantics and network science.

Jacki Erens

Jacki

Email: jerens2@illinois.edu

Jacki Erens is interested in various aspects of language production, at both the word and sentence level.


Lab Management

Katherine Koch

Email: kmkoch3@illinois.edu